Feel the burn???

 If you’re unfortunate enough to live in one of the many states that experienced blizzards this winter, your no stranger to shoveling snow.  I hate to break it to you, but it’s not time to put the shovels away yet.  Up here in Minnesota, it looks like there’s more snow on the way this week.  But it’s not all bad!!!  Have you ever wondered how many calories you’re burning while you’re shoveling snow (or mopping the kitchen or painting the living room)? I stumbled upon a GREAT little online tool that will calculate how many calories you burn doing all your daily activities!

http://health.discovery.com/centers/cholesterol/activity/activity.html

According to this nifty little calculator, I burned 367 calories when I spent an hour shoveling snow!  Bring on the blizzards!  Just make sure to use proper technique when shoveling…apparently you can pull a muscle in your back even if your young and fit! (I feel like I’m getting old…I actually pulled a muscle in my back last week when I was doing a bit of shoveling! Not fun!)

I can’t wait for spring so I can get outside to do some gardening and lawn work (while burning calories AND getting a tan)!  But in the meanwhile, hang in there everybody, and get outside and “feel the [calorie] burn” this winter!

Have a happy healthy day!

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

