Introducing…

Introducing…Food of the Week!

(*Disclaimer…I’m awesome, but not that awesome. Food of the week may not occur every week!)

There are so many healthy ingredients and products out there, so every* week I’ll be bringing you a new product to try.  I’ll be your personal guinea pig as I try recipes and products, and bring you the best of the bunch!  I’ll also give you the short version of the health benefits of each product.  Expand your horizons and get healthy, and try some new foods with me! Who knows…you may actually like it!   : )

Food of the Week: Mushrooms!

 It’s true.  Some mushrooms do look like they came right out of a weird sci-fi flick.  But there’s no need for you to be scared of the mushrooms from your local grocer.  I promise they won’t bite, or send you on a  psychedelic trip, or poison you.  The most common mushrooms you’ll see at the store are white button mushrooms, portabella mushrooms, and shiitake mushrooms.  Mushrooms actually have a very mild taste, and will mostly just taste like what you cook them with.   I really like mushrooms because, unlike other vegetables, I feel really satisfied after eating them.

 Nutritional Info:
– 1 serving (1 cup) of mushrooms only has 15 calories
– 1 serving has 2 grams of protein! Who knew?!
– Mushrooms are the only veggie to contain vitamin D in edible/absorbable form (great for the winter when you can’t hit the beach to soak up some vitamin D!)
– Mushrooms contain natural antibiotics (hello, cold season!)
– Great source of potassium (pre/post workout must), calcium, iron, and selenium
 
My favorite ways to eat mushrooms:
 
Steak House Mushrooms
1 package of sliced mushrooms (I recommend baby bellas or shiitake, or half and half)
2 TB butter
2 splashes or Worcestershire sauce
2 splashes of soy sauce (like my very scientific measurements?!)
– Brown the butter in a 10″ pan. Add mushrooms and continue to stir them for about 5 minutes. Add everything else and stir occasionally. Simmer for 10-15 minutes.
  
Lazy Mushrooms
1 package mushrooms
10 fresh mint leaves
3 garlic cloves
1 TB olive oil
salt/pepper to taste
– Pre-heat oven to 425. Cut garlic cloves in half. Add everything to an oven safe dish with a cover. Bake for 25 minutes.

 Do your body a favor and eat some mushrooms this week!  Let me know what you think of the recipes! And if you have a great mushroom recipe of your own, please share!

Have a happy, healthy day!

Caitlin

1 Comment

  1. March 3, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    I love mushrooms but for some reason I never seem to use them much. I need to start tossing some in with my salad. :D

    The Grumpy Man


Leave a Reply

