Namaste…what does that mean anyway?

Yoga…a MUST in the busy persons weekly schedule!

I generally practice yoga once a week, but this hasn’t always been the case.  I tend to be the type that doesn’t want to waste an hour of PRECIOUS free-time doing a workout that isn’t  a high-calorie-burning-gut-wrenching workout.  But…after learning about some of the benefits of yoga, and straightening out some misconceptions, I’m more than happy to take an hour out of my week and practice yoga.  

Benefits, misconceptions, and random facts about yoga:



 1. Yoga is great for a busy schedule  because you won’t get as sweaty and can skip the shower afterwards if you have to

2.  Yoga can be very hard, depending on which class you take.  I’ve taken classes that I’ve had to take a “breather”! If you consider yourself an athlete and don’t think yoga’s for you, I dare you to try a hot yoga class.

3. Yoga increases flexibility, balance, respiratory efficiency, and strength (great for all the other sports/activities you do)

4. Improves posture, improves sleep, and helps normalize weight (helps you LOOK good)

5. Energizes, decreases stress, and improves mood (helps you FEEL good)

Oh and by the way, Namaste means “I honor the Spirit in you which is also in me.”  There are several interpretations, but this salutation is the most common.

Have a happy healthy day! Namaste!

Caitlin

2 Comments

  1. C... said,

    March 17, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I tried the P90X Yoga DVD and just the first 20 minutes of it kicked my butt. Yoga is not easy and always have to shower after – I sweat a lot.

    • March 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      Omg you are totally right! I’ve tried the p90x yoga and it’s hard! I feel like is more of a “work out” yoga than traditional yoga


Leave a Reply

