GET SKINNY: FATTEN UP YOUR DIET

If you are a  child of the 90’s, or lived through the 90’s, the idea that FAT = BAD has been pounded into your head. And it makes sense, right?  If you eat fatty foods, you will be fat.  Seems pretty simple.  WELL.  You can imagine my surprise when my nutritionist told me that I needed to be eating more fat!  This isn’t because im too skinny.  I’m downright average in fact.  But my nutritionist told me that if I want to boost my body’s metabolism for the long run to avoid gaining weight, I needed to fatten up my diet.  I’m NOT telling you to eat McDonald’s every day.  Eating the RIGHT fats will boost your metabolism, give you energy, suppress your appetite, and give you naturally heathy skin and hair. So, what are these magical good fats you ask?

Some of the healthiest sources of fat include:

Avocado
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
Flax Seed Oil
Wild Salmon
Raw Nuts
Seeds
Seafood

And what are some of the WORST fats, that you should XXX from your diet IMMEDIATELY?

Animal fats
Margarine (did you know it’s just 1 molecule different from plastic!?)
Full Fat Dairy Products (Full fat cheese, full fat ice cream, whole milk)
Anything “hydrogenated” or “partially hydrogenated”

I’m no health expert, and when I tried to research healthy fats online, I came up with hundreds conflicting answers from supposedly “credible” sources. Whats a girl to do???!!!  So all I’m telling you today is what I learned from my nutritionist.  But really, the moral of this story?  Add more avocado and olive oil (2 very common, and easy to use ingredients) into your diet to promote a healthy metabolism!

Have a healthy happy day!

Caitlin

7 Comments

  1. Elisa said,

    April 12, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Great post! I agree, fats are so important. I used to eat low fat all the time (and bad quality fats). Now, I eat good quality fats which leave me fuller and more satisfied. I have more energy, am skinnier and my body is much more happier! Also important to get both saturated and unsaturated fats. Saturated fats are what keep your organs and what not in place; much more stable! Coconut oil is my favourite :).

  2. April 12, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    I agree great post! I am always telling my patients the importants of fat and how eliminating them completely, like so many people try and do, can be just as harmful as eating to much. Looking forward to reading more posts in the future!

  3. Karen said,

    April 12, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Interesting isn’t it? Good fats help your body digest your foods and like you said, keep your skin, hair and nails looking fabulous! Good reminder to focus on exactly what kinds of fats I’m ingesting and if I need to incorporate more of the healthy ones. I’ll take any excuse to eat an avocado! :)

  4. April 12, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Thank you! Theres always so much to learn about healthy eating!

  5. jocey said,

    April 12, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog! I love this post. And those healthy fats can be so delish!
    Have a happy day :)
    Jocelyn

  6. Rachael said,

    April 13, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Interesting post but I’m surprised you warn against full fat dairy products. That’s an important aspect of any woman’s diet and shouldn’t be overlooked. All in moderation!

  7. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace said,

    April 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    True! I find that including “healthy fats” in my diet helps my hair and nails to grow and keeps my skin soft. I get most of my fats from nut butters, olive oil, and fish.


Leave a Reply

