First run of the summer…Oh Sh%!# i’m in trouble!

I know I don’t normally post this close together, but it is necessary. Yesterday was the first HOT (89 degrees) day of the year here in MN so I thought i’d kick off my summer running season with a short run after work. WELL. Let me just say that if yesterdays run was any indication, I am in serious trouble! Granted, it was incredibly muggy out, but I ran a VERY slow 4 miles! (Yes, it was too slow to even tell you what time I got. Were not going to go there!)

Last summer I didn’t do any outdoor running because I didn’t want to get a sports bra tan for the wedding. Last night I felt like I was a newbie to the whole running thing. It was pathetic. There was sweat dripping off of me from EVERYWHERE about 3 minutes into the run, and I’m pretty sure I had some great facial expressions going.

My sexy new water belt!

Highlights of my run: Wearing my fabulous (dorky) new water belt and an Enya v. Prodigy mashup song that came on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3CTJqwX-AwM (you really need to listen to this!)

The water belt was actually pretty cool. I’ve never used one before, but it was SO nice not to get cotton mouth! It feels a little funny at first, but you get used to it pretty fast!

Well, I think I have some serious work to do to get ready for the races I’m entered in this summer! (Oh what?! ! you say? I’ll come back to that another time…very exciting news coming up!)

Have a happy healthy day!

Caitlin

3 Comments

  1. Martha said,

    May 12, 2011 at 1:46 am

    OK, I watched the youtube. Weird!! listening to the song was all I needed. What was that video??? never mind. I don’t want to know!

    • May 12, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      LOL I have no idea what the video was about. I just like running to the song b/c its like a rock/fast version of an enya song! Good running music!

  2. pawsitivelife said,

    May 16, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Summer running definitly presents some challenges. I swear by my baseball cap to keep hair in place and I never venture out after 9 am or before 5 pm. too hot!


Leave a Reply

