Goooooooooal!

SO, last night I tried a new loop, intending to run 5 miles. Well…I got lost somehow (not surprising if you know me at all!) and ended up running for an hour and 10 minutes. I have NO clue how far I actually ran, but it was definitely the longest run of the year so far, and completely by accident! I’m just glad I found my way back eventually!

It can be hard to stay motivated in your fitness regiment (especially when you’d rather be BBQing and drinking beer on the deck after a long day at work), but  it can really help to have goals. For people who are more competitive, that might mean besting your time by the end of the season or in a race. For others it may be to lose 10 pounds for an upcoming event ,or to fit into that pair of jeans.  Your goal for THIS week? Make a list of fitness-related goals! 

Here are some tips for setting fitness goals:

1. Set your goals with the intention of STICKING TO IT! Remember, “A goal that is casually set and lightly taken is freely abandoned at the first obstacle.”  – Zig Zigler

2. Set a deadline (race date, an event, the last day of summer, your class reunion…)

3. Be realistic and specific (ie: “I will lose 15 pounds by August 31st”, NOT “I want to lose 100 pounds”)

4. Break it down. Break down your goal into bite size pieces. If you want to run a 10k in under 48 minutes, make a goal to run several 5ks in under 25 minutes first!

5. Keep it fun! Don’t work towards something that you don’t want or don’t enjoy. On days when its hard, remind yourself that you’re doing this for YOU and that is something you WANT.  

Here are my goals…some short term and some long-term, that are keeping me motivated this summer:

  • Look good for my cousin Sarah’s wedding THIS SATURDAY (haha very short-term)
  • Run the SayHey 5K this June in under 25 Minutes
  • Complete the warrior dash this July without dying  : )
  • Be able to do 5 pull-ups by the end of the summer
  • Be able to consistently climb 5.10A’s again by next summer (I need a climbing buddy…any takers?)
  • Have arms like Kelly Rippa when i’m her age  : )

Have a happy healthy day, and set some goals!

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

