Fish Tacos… I’m “hooked”!

I hope you had a lovely weekend, mine was fabulous thanks to an awesome hubby and beautiful weather! On Friday at work, there was a duathlon sprint challenge and I managed to run 1.96 miles in 15 minutes…thats a 7:39 mile pace! Saturday I went to Core Power Yoga for my first ever core power class. I tried the yoga sculpt…omg I’m pretty sure I lost 5 pounds just from sweating! I don’t think I’ve ever sweat so much! Sunday I went back again for another class and I officially LOVE Core Power! Sunday after yoga, I (well, actually my husband) got my bike out, dusted it off, and put air into the tires for the first time this year. I rode over to my parents, a 14 mile ride, and relaxed by the pool for the rest of the day! Finally getting that summer tan going!

But, all that has nothing to do with what I actually wanted to post today. My dad loves fish tacos and orders them if we go out to a good seafood/mexican restaurant. As a relatively adventurous eater, I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve never tried a fish taco. WELL, this past week we had leftover grilled wahoo and tuna steaks that needed to be eaten, so I decided to make fish tacos. I looked online for recipes and they were all unnecessarily complicated. So I decided to go out on a limb and throw together my own recipe (pretty daring, considering I’ve never had a fish taco, no?). I wanted something healthy and fresh, and EASY.

Caitlin’s Tropical Fish Tacos:

Leftover grilled fish (Wahoo, Tuna, or Mahi Mahi are best)
Mango, diced
Avocado, diced
Tomatoes, diced
Fresh Cilantro, minced
Hot Sauce (optional)
Flour tortillas
 
It’s pretty self explanatory…
 
Chop all the fresh fruits/veggies
Heat up a tortilla on the stove (not necessary, but it’s nice!)
Mash/chop the fish and heat it up (I microwaved it…don’t judge).
Pile everything on and enjoy!

The verdict? I LOVE fish tacos! I used a tropical hot sauce that we bought on Tortola while on our honeymoon, but any hot sauce will work if you want to heat it up a bit! Next time you have leftover fish, you know what to do!

Have a happy healthy day!

Caitlin

 
 
2 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    June 18, 2011 at 3:52 am

    I ignore the mangos but fish taco’s are a necessity in this house!! Here’s an option if you’re interested… Fish, grilled peppers/onions, and cabbage soaked in vinegar. Add whatever else you want like cilantro, salsa, sour cream. But super yummy!!


Leave a Reply

