I’ve got the beet I’ve got the beet….yeah!

No, I’m not a terrible speller…I know that song is talking about a beat, not a beet. But I couldn’t resist. Our last CSA box contained a bunch of  beets. I’ve eaten pickled beets at Christmas and Thanksgiving, but I’ve never tried cooking my own beets before.  I was a little hesitant about dealing with raw beets, but I found an EASY recipe to try, and it was DELISH. I had it for lunch this week, but apparently was too excited to eat my beet salad to take time to take a picture – sorry!  : D

Easy Beet Salad

1 lb beets
1 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 pinch cinnamon
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
Salt to taste

Cut off the tops, leaving a stalk of about 1 1/2 inches.
Boil, covered, until tender. (~ 15 minutes)
Strain and let cool. Slip off the skins, trim off the tops, and cut into bite-sized pieces.
Mix the remaining ingredients and pour over beets.
Let marinate 1 hour before serving.

Beets are also super nutritious! They contain lots of magnesium, calcium, iron, potassium, fiber, biotin, and folic acid.  Beets are a “cardiovascular health” veggie. All those nutrients are great for improving/maintaining cardiovascular health. That can make you healthy, and also improve your athletic performance!

I had no idea beets were to easy to prepare! This salad is a great way to get some serious reds/purples into your diet! Although I normally think of beets as more of a holiday season food, cold beet salad is really refreshing in the summer! Perfect for packing in your lunch or serving to guests!

What do you think? Do you have favorite beet recipes of your own? I’d love to hear about it!

2 Comments

  1. Lyssa said,

    July 27, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    I am personally terrified of beets. I really cannot explain this fear, but perhaps I should look again. That recipe sounds so good!
    I had problems with my gallbladder a year and a half ago, and with lack of insurance was forced to find alternative methods for helping with the issue. Most articles on the issue suggested diet change. Beets were recommended as the number one food you could eat to promote gallbladder function. Instead of eating beets, I take a supplement. And the results were remarkable. I have not had an issue since I started my new beet diet.
    I consider beets to be a magical food. Everyone should eat beets!

    • July 27, 2011 at 5:22 pm

      I agree! I like them b/c they have tons of iron and I struggle with anemia and don’t really like eating much meat. I’d much rather eat beets! You’ll have to let me know if you try the recipe! I can’t get enough of it, i’ve had it for lunch 4 days in a row now… : )


Leave a Reply

